cwip1

As of five seconds ago, I am officially a member of Chicago Women in Publishing (CWIP)!

This past Wednesday, I was lucky enough to attend the Freelance Edge seminar CWIP ran.  The panelists were informative and the other attendees were friendly and welcoming – overall a beneficial experience with a professional group of mostly women, many of them with titles and experience I envy.

I am hoping to be able to become actively involved with the CWIP organization and contribute to their community.  I was an active member of numerous groups in college, but since moving to Chicago have apparently been distracted by the many other offerings and my participation has fallen – this is my first step in fixing that!

Check out CWIP’s website for more information – http://www.cwip.org. With the $100 enrollment fee you can attend their weekly monthly seminars at no additional cost, covering a variety of topics from freelance work to green publishing, as well as have access to the exclusive online jobvine (which I obviously could benefit from).  A social aspect is also offered through mixers and seasonal get-togethers.

Next Step: Volunteering with Open Books on their Literacy Team!

