I really wanted some sort of clever title for this, but came up with nothing (and am trying to get better about SEO).  I won an ARC ages ago from Shelf Awareness (this novel has been on sale since March), where it remained under my desk until I grabbed it to read in the park while I devoured my Subway (if we’re friends on Facebook, you’ll know I’m addicted to their limited edition Orchard Chix Salad footlong).

Though I hate drama and the unknown in real life, I like to read about it.  So the promise of “mystery, betrayal, and family tragedy” had my expectations high.

This is Dianne Dixon’s debut novel, and she had me interested for the first few chapters, but also confused: how did this man know the address of his supposed estranged family, but not know the how, the why, or that they’ve died?  Unfortunately, these questions are never answered to my satisfaction.

The chapters jump between time and narrator, and after having read the “twist” at the end I believe this author’s style was inspired by Jodi Picoult.  It’s an interesting story, but I was left with wanting more.  Not wanting more in a sequel, but left feeling unfilled by the explanations and discoveries given.  There were too many plots running and none seemed to reach their potential, or a satisfactory conclusion.

THE LANGUAGE OF SECRETS wasn’t unenjoyable; I believe if I had read this as a book club pick I would appreciate the discussion and insights from other people instead of leaving my questions bouncing around in my head unanswered.  I will buy the next book from this author, but plan to download to my Kindle as I don’t think it would be one I would be compelled to keep in my (physical) library.

Visit the author’s website: http://www.diannedixon.com/
Available on Amazon here.

